• Sunday Jan 28, 2018

    Mexico’s Alvarado grasps CU20W Golden Glove presented by Allstate

    Mexico’s Emily Alvarado (pictured) pumps her fist after making a save in the penalty shootout against the USA in CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship final on January 28, 2018, in Couva, Trinidad & Tobago. (Photo: CA-Images)

    COUVA, Trinidad & Tobago – The 2018 CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship Technical Study Group announced Sunday that Mexico’s Emily Alvarado earned the Golden Glove Award presented by Allstate as the competition’s top goalkeeper.

    The 19-year-old custodian appeared in four of the Tricolor’s five games, conceding four goals.

    In the final against the four-time defending champion United States, Alvarado came up huge. After 120 minutes of play, the sides were level at 1-1 and penalty kicks were used to decide which team would lift the trophy. Alvarado saved two U.S. attempts as Mexico prevailed, 4-2, from the spot.

    She has already played in two World Cups: 2014 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup (2 games) and 2016 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup (3 games).

  • Champions League

    Related News


For the Etiennes -- Derrick Jr. & Danielle -- Haiti success is about family

Prior to meeting Canada in the CONCACAF Women's Under-20 Championship match for third place on Sunday, Haiti midfielder Danielle Etienne received some advice from older brother Derrick Jr.

When history called, Haiti’s Jeudy said: “Oui”

Asked to put into words the raw emotion felt immediately after the final whistle that signified Haiti’s historic and dramatic 1-0 win over Canada in the third place match of the 2018 CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship, Sherly Jeudy couldn’t help but let out a giggle.

CU20W Allstate Best Save of the Game

These were some of the Best Saves of the CONCACAF Women's Under-20 Tournament presented by Allstate. Which was your favorite?

TSG announces CU20W Best XI

Following completion of the 2018 CONCACAF under 20 women´s championship, the Technical Study Group announced the tournament’s Best XI.

Mexico takes home CU20W Fair Play Award presented by Scotiabank

In addition to winning the 2018 CONCACAF Under-20 Women’s Championship title on Sunday, Mexico earned the competition’s Fair Play Award.